墨菲州长签署设立新泽西-印度委员会的行政命令

电影和数字媒体税收抵免

吸引主要电影制作

由新泽西州经济发展局 (NJEDA) 管理的新泽西州强大的电影和数字媒体税收抵免计划提供了卓越的价值,并允许电影制作人在不超出预算的情况下“将资金投入银幕”。

电影税收抵免计划

2021 年,NJEDA 通过扩大其电影和数字媒体税收抵免计划,扩大了对电影和数字媒体制作的支持。 该计划吸引制作公司在新泽西拍摄和制作数字媒体内容,并鼓励发展大型工作室。

新泽西强大的电影税收抵免使电影制作人可以在不超出预算的情况下为完成的项目投入更多的资金。 NJEDA 给予的税收抵免相当于合格电影制作费用的 30% 至 35%。 该计划将持续到 2034 年。

申请资格

面向全国观众的时长 22 分钟或更长时间的故事片、电视剧或节目。

满足以下之一

  • 产生的总制作费用(不包括后期制作)的 60% 是通过授权的新泽西供应商购买的服务和商品

或者

  • 在新泽西发生的合格生产费用超过 1 万美元。

其他要求

  • 片尾字幕包括“在新泽西拍摄”标志。
  • 主要摄影在申请后 180 天内或 NJEDA 董事会批准后 150 天内开始。

如果制作真人秀的制作公司在城市企业区拥有、租赁或以其他方式占用至少 20,000 平方英尺的制作设施至少至少两年,并对该设施进行至少 3 万美元的资本投资。

数字媒体税收抵免计划

税收抵免相当于合格数字媒体制作费用的 30%,或合格数字媒体制作费用的 35%,这些费用是通过主要营业地点位于大西洋、伯灵顿、卡姆登、开普梅的供应商提供的服务和购买的有形个人财产产生的,坎伯兰、格洛斯特、美世或塞勒姆县。

参赛资格:

通过授权在新泽西州开展业务的供应商提供的服务和购买的商品必须至少产生 2 万美元的数字媒体制作总费用,并且至少 50% 的合格数字媒体内容制作费用必须用于支付给以下人员的工资和薪金新泽西州的全职员工。

多元化税收抵免奖金

与我们的价值观同步,新泽西州正在倡导一种更具包容性和多样化的电影和电视商业模式。 这就是为什么我们是少数几个拥有电影税收抵免的州之一,其中包括 2% 或 4% 的多样性奖金,用于计划雇用女性和少数族裔担任关键创意职位和制作人员的计划。

 

作为电影税收抵免申请的一部分,向 NJEDA 提交多元化计划以供批准,其中应包括:

  • 打算在电影制作的所有领域优先积极招募和雇用非裔美国人、西班牙裔美国人、亚裔美国人、美洲原住民和女性,特别是制作人员和员工、入门级职位、管理职位和人才相关职位。
  • 女性和少数民族的招聘目标不少于电影总产量的 15%。
  • 表明申请人是否打算参加与新泽西州大学、劳工组织和电影行业合作组织的培训、教育和招聘计划,如果是,则说明申请人打算如何参加。 鼓励但不要求这种合作。
  • 描述在招聘、选拔、任用、晋升和培训方面确保平等就业机会的努力。

多元化计划由 NJEDA 和新泽西州多元化与包容办公室审查和批准。

工作室合作伙伴和电影租赁合作伙伴指定

为鼓励大型、长期工作室设施的开发,2020 年经济复苏法案创建了两个额外的独立分配指定,一个用于工作室合作伙伴,一个用于电影租赁合作伙伴。

工作室合作伙伴称号

申请人必须是对至少 250,000 平方英尺的生产设施进行现场控制至少十年的生产公司。 此外,在批准之前,生产设施场地至少需要获得初步场地规划批准、已执行的重建协议或考虑到生产设施建设的已采纳重建计划,并且在指定批准后,能够提供临时或该设施在 36 个月内的永久占用证明。 只有三个工作室合作伙伴名称可用,以先到先得的方式授予符合条件的申请人。

除了单独的 100 亿美元激励池外,工作室合作伙伴指定还允许制作公司获得额外的线下工资和工资,作为其税收抵免奖励计算的一部分,这是该计划的一个关键特征。

电影租赁合作伙伴指定

申请人必须是生产公司,至少拥有至少 50,000 平方英尺的生产设施的意向书或其他现场控制文件,期限至少为五年。 此外,申请人应承诺在申请人的承诺期内每年平均花费 50 万美元用于合格的电影制作费用。

工作室合作伙伴和电影租赁合作伙伴将首先向 NJEDA 申请被指定,然后为之后在新泽西州制作的每个电影项目提交后续申请。 可以获得电影租赁合作伙伴称号的制作公司的数量没有限制。

工作室和电影租赁合作伙伴的税收抵免奖励百分比与电影制作的遗留计划相同,但是,工作室和电影租赁合作伙伴受益于单独的批准队列和每个指定类别的单独年度分配 100 亿美元。

什么可以选择新泽西为您做

搬迁和扩建服务

我们提供定制的 RFI 响应、人口统计、详细的市场评估和其他免费的业务搬迁和扩展服务。 当您的公司选择在新泽西州发展时,我们也将帮助您宣传您的好消息。

实地考察

我们将使您的物业搜索无缝衔接,以便您找到最能满足您搬迁或扩建需求的网站。

经济发展联系

我们的公共和私人合作伙伴提供广泛的服务。 从高等教育研究合作到监管和法律援助再到劳动力培训,他们将确保您顺利着陆。

蕾娜·谢尔曼
研究与战略合作伙伴关系总监
雷切尔科恩
业务发展主任

Film production in New Jersey once again smashes records in 2022

Film & Digital Media Tax Credit

Attracting Major Film Productions

New Jersey’s robust Film & Digital Media Tax Credit Program, administered by the New Jersey Economic Development Authority (NJEDA), provides exceptional value and allows filmmakers to “put the money up on the screen” while staying within budget.

Film Tax Credit Program

In 2021, the NJEDA broadened its support of film and digital media production by expanding its Film and Digital Media Tax Credit program. The program attracts production companies to film and create digital media content in New Jersey and encourages the development of large-scale studios.

New Jersey’s robust film tax credit allows filmmakers to dedicate more dollars to the finished project while staying within budget. The tax credit awarded by the NJEDA is equal to 30% to 35% of qualified film production expenses. The program will run through 2034.

Eligibility

Feature films, TV series, or shows of 22 minutes or more in length intended for a national audience.

Meet One of the Following

  • 60% of the total production expenses incurred (excluding post-production) are services and goods purchased through authorized New Jersey vendors

OR

  • Qualified production expenses incurred in New Jersey exceed $1 million.

Required

  • End credits include “Filmed in New Jersey” logo.
  • Principal photography starts within 180 days of application or 150 days of NJEDA board approval.

Reality shows, which are otherwise ineligible for the Film Tax Credit, may be eligible if the production companies creating the reality shows own, lease, or otherwise occupies a production facility of at least 20,000 sq. ft. in an Urban Enterprise Zone for at least two years and makes a capital investment of at least $3 million in that facility.

Digital Media Tax Credit Program

Tax credit equal to 30 percent of qualified digital media production expenses, or 35 percent of qualified digital media production expenses incurred for services performed and tangible personal property purchased through vendors whose primary place of business is located in Atlantic, Burlington, Camden, Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester, Mercer or Salem County.

Eligibility:

At least $2 million of the total digital media production expenses must be incurred for services performed and goods purchased through vendors authorized to do business in New Jersey and at least 50% of the qualified digital media content production expenses must be for wages and salaries paid to full-time employees in New Jersey.

Diversity Tax Credit Bonus

In synchrony with our values, New Jersey is championing a more inclusive and diverse business model in film and TV. That’s why we’re one of the few states with a film tax credit that includes a 2% or 4% diversity bonus for plans to hire women and minorities for key creative positions and production crews.

 

As part of the film tax credit application, submit a diversity plan to NJEDA for approval, which should include:

  • Intent to prioritize actively recruiting and hiring African Americans, Hispanics, Asian Americans, Native Americans, and women in all areas of production of the film, specifically production crew and staff, entry-level positions, management positions, and talent-related positions.
  • A hiring goal of no less than 15% of total film production to be women and minority persons.
  • Indicating whether and, if so, how the applicant intends to participate in training, education, and recruitment programs that are organized in cooperation with New Jersey state colleges and universities, labor organizations, and the motion picture industry. Such cooperation is encouraged but not required.
  • Description of efforts to ensure equal employment opportunities in recruitment, selection, appointment, promotion, and training.

Diversity plans are reviewed and approved by the NJEDA and New Jersey Office of Diversity and Inclusion.

studio partners and film-lease partners designation

To encourage the development of large, long-term studio facilities, two additional and separate allocation desig­nations were created by the Economic Recovery Act of 2020, one for Studio Partners and one for Film-Lease Partners.

Studio Partner Designation

The applicant must be a production company that has site control of a production facility that is at least 250,000 sq. ft. for at least ten years. Additionally, prior to approval, the production facility site needs to have at least preliminary site plan approval, an executed redevelopment agreement, or an adopted redevelopment plan that contemplates the construction of the production facility and, following designation approval, be able to provide a temporary or permanent certificate of occupancy for the facility within 36 months. Only three Studio Partner designations are available, which are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis to eligible applicants.

In addition to a separate $100 million pool of incentives, the Studio Partner designation allows a production company to capture additional above-the-line salaries and wages as part of its tax credit award calculation, a key feature of the plan.

Film-Lease Partner Designation

Applicants must be production companies that have at least a Letter of Intent or other site control documentation for a production facility of at least 50,000 sq. ft. for a term of at least five years. Additionally, the applicant shall commit to spending, on an annual average basis, $50 million in qualified film production expenses over the applicant’s commitment period.

Studio Partners and Film-Lease Partners would first apply to the NJEDA to be designated and then submit subsequent applications for each film project produced in New Jersey thereafter. There are no restrictions on the number of production companies that can receive the Film-Lease Partner designation.

The tax credit award percentage for Studio and Film-Lease Partners is identical to that of the legacy program for film productions, however, Studio and Film-Lease Partners benefit from a separate approval queue and separate annual allocation of $100 million for each designation category.

WHAT CAN CHOOSE New Jersey DO FOR YOU

Relocation & Expansion Services

We provide customized RFI responses, demographics, detailed market assessments and other complimentary business relocation and expansion services. When your company chooses to grow in New Jersey, we also will help you publicize your good news.

Site Visits

We’ll make your property search seamless, so you find the site that best meets your relocation or expansion needs.

Economic Development Connections

Our public and private partners provide a wide range of services. From higher education research collaboration to regulatory and legal assistance to workforce training, they’ll ensure you have a smooth landing.

Bill Noonan
Acting Chief Business Development Officer
Rena Sherman
Research Manager