EY names Amarin CEO as Entrepreneur of the Year for Life Sciences

Ernst & Young announced on Monday it has named John F. Thero, CEO and president of Amarin Corp., its 2019 Entrepreneur of the Year for Life Sciences.

The awards program, founded in 1986, recognizes entrepreneurs “who create the products and services that keep our worldwide economy moving forward and redefine the way we live, work and play,” EY said in a news release.

The Bridgewater-based pharmaceutical CEO’s win, EY said, placed him in the running for its national award.

“This award is a great honor, especially in light of the many outstanding people, and the achievements of their companies, that were considered,” Thero said. “The award is a tribute to the significant pioneering progress made by Amarin’s dedicated employees in advancing cost-effective preventative care solutions for reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease, which is on the rise in the United States. Breakthroughs in preventative cardiovascular care are rare and greatly needed. Hopefully this award will bring added attention to Amarin’s efforts in developing an innovative treatment option for high risk patients that reduces cardiovascular risk beyond cholesterol management.”

Thero was presented with the award on Saturday, Nov. 16 at EY’s annual Strategic Growth Forum.

In addition to the life sciences award, one overall award winner and 10 industry-specific award were given out. Winners were selected by a panel of judges consisting of prior award winners and civic and community leaders not affiliated with EY.

“Leaders in their respective industries, the category winners have been driven by their desire to better the world around them, stopping at nothing to achieve their greatest ambitions,” Debra von Storch, Entrepreneur Of The Year, EY Americas director, said. “This year, our winners employed over 146,000 people with job growth of 28 percent, while also generating revenue of more than $42 billion — more than 46 percent annual revenue growth.”

They include:

  • Overall Award Winner: Dr. Joe DeSimone, CEO of Carbon Inc., California;
  • Consumer Products and Retail: Stephen Hawthornthwaite, co founder, Rothy’s Inc., California;
  • Distribution and Manufacturing: Dr. Joe DeSimone, CEO of Carbon Inc., California;
  • Emerging: Kabir Barday, founder and CEO, OneTrust, Georgia;
  • Energy and Natural Resources: Brandon Dewan, CEO, Eagle Pipe LLC, Texas;
  • Family Business: Thomas Hartland-Mackle, CEO and president, City Electric Supply Co., Texas;
  • Financial Services: Mike Massaro, CEO, Flywire, Massachusetts;
  • Media, Entertainment and Telecommunications: Dave Schaeffer, founder and CEO, Cogent Communications, Washington D.C.;
  • Real Estate, Hospitality & Construction: Molly North, CEO and president, AI. Neyer, Ohio;
  • Services: Bryce Maddock, CEO and Jaspar Weir, president, TaskUs, California;
  • Technology: Caryn Seidman Becker, chairman and CEO; and Ken Cornick, co founder and president, CLEAR, New York.

Read full article here. 

Scroll to Top